Are you ready for some football…GO CHARGERS!!!

This week is the start of the National Football League 2009 season. Being a Bay Area resident, I’m surrounded by 49er and Raider fans. Luckily, I’ve met a good number of San Diego exiles and we’ve kept the Charger spirit alive in foreign territory.

In order to keep up with my Chargers news and analysis, I follow a blog called Bolts From the Blue. It’s my favorite sports blog and one of the best blogs in general. I won’t bother going into my own deep, detailed Chargers’ analysis because you might as well go to BFTB. That’s where I get most of my info.

But I will say that if we’re going to win a Super Bowl, this is the year, looking at it from the preseason perspective. We’ve kept continuity on both sides of the ball, our offense is still just as dangerous as last year, our defense got a boost with the return of Merriman, the addition of our top pick Larry English, Rivera has had a year to work in his defensive scheme, and most importantly: WE’RE HEALTHY!  We’ve been one of the most talented teams in the NFL for the past few years, but we just haven’t been able to pull it together. And no, I don’t think it’s Turner’s fault. Do I think he’s the best coach in the NFL? No. Has he won more playoff games for than Marty for us? Yes. And that’s the most important part for me.

The next couple off-seasons, the Chargers face the prospects of losing some of their best players. Whether we can absorb/ replace the hit remains to be seen. That’s why we have to win now. While we know we have the pieces in place.

BUT…being a San Diego sports fan, I know it can hurt to be too optimistic. In order to survive season after season, it’s important to have a sense of cautious optimism. We’ve never won a league championship in ANY major sport. We’re used to disappointing, underachieving seasons from our teams. No matter what the preseason expectations might have been.

For now though, at least for the next few hours, no one has the right to say our team sucks. Hopefully being deemed ‘the most talented’ will translate into ‘Super Bowl Champion’.

One thought on “Are you ready for some football…GO CHARGERS!!!

Leave a Reply

