Sensory Overload: RUN-DMC vs. Jason Nevins- It’s Like That

I’ve always been amazed by music videos because of their ability to engage two of your major senses: sight and hearing. For me, when I hear a good song, I can’t help but visualize the music. Simply, it’s a collision of two very distinct art forms.

With that said, I present a new segment where I talk about different music videos that I have an appreciation for. You’ve probably already seen it. Maybe not. But sharing a good music video is never a bad thing.

First Up:

Dir. Schofield & Sternberg – Artista/ Sony Music – 1998 – USA

I forgot when I first saw this, I think it was sometime during high school. But it was a fairly simple concept: Girls vs. Boys dance battle. And it wasn’t like no one had done that style of dance prior to this video.

But for me, especially when big, flashy videos with huge budgets are the norm, I enjoy simple concepts. Especially when they do it right. In this video you see several styles of dance. I’m sure my friends with more dance knowledge than myself could tell you who was in the video, that I cannot do. I will say this though…this video really made me want to learn to dance. Though that never happened, I’m sure we can trace back with a lot of folks who actually followed through and they’d say the same.

This video just makes you really hyped and reminds you of the pure fun-ness of Hiphop. It really is a good compliment to the song (which has an interesting story itself). Thanks Jason Nevins.

2 thoughts on “Sensory Overload: RUN-DMC vs. Jason Nevins- It’s Like That

  1. Let’s not forget some of the cameos:

    Lead bgirl with Hat: emcee Medusa
    Short haired asian bgirl: Asia1

    I don’t remember the other breakers, but I’m sure people can help with the identities. It’s been a while. Many of these folks were in some of the bigger international battles, commercials, and videos. Anyone care to chime in?

Leave a Reply

