and how could I forget…Happy 89th Birthday Yuri Kochiyama!

I can’t forget about one of the biggest pioneers of Asian American activism. She helped connect me more with my own identity and reminded me that while it’s okay to be proud of Filipino and all that, I should always be an internationalist. I love the film X, but one thing I wish they included was reference to Yuri, since she was present at Malcolm’s assassination.

One of my favorite moments here in the Bay was being at an anti-war demonstration and seeing her out there. I was hella starstruck. Even if she couldn’t physically march, she still knew how important it was for her to be there. I hope all of us who are active in our community live as long as she has. Mabuhay si Yuri!

Leave a Reply

