So what the hell am I doing in Mexico?

For folks who are my friends on facebook and twitter, you’ve probably noticed I’ve been talking about Mexico a lot. Because it’s not a normal occurrence, I’ve received various questions about what’s going on. Then I realized I didn’t do a very good job of explaining what I’m doing and what’s going on here in Mexico.

I’m in Mexico to attend the 3rd International Assembly of Migrants & Refugees. This assembly was first started as a response to the United Nations-sponsored Global Forum on Migration & Development. Don’t let the pretty colors fool you, the GFMD is a place where the big, industrialized nations come together and discuss the continued exploitation of migrant workers for their benefit. Migrant organizations couldn’t just sit idly by while decisions about them were being made. At least not without their voices being heard.

While I’m here representing the League of Filipino Students- SFSU, my main task is to document and blog about the whole assembly. You know, put those school skills to use.

I’ve been here for less than a day and there’s already so much to report. Mexico City is hella high up, its freakin’ freezing here, and I’ve been having bouts of narcolepsy. But being in a room with such strong and determined people from all over the world makes any lack of sleep irrelevant.

So I’ll try and write again tonight, if I can over come the problem of a lack of outlets.

Leave a Reply

